top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAkshay Melwani

Life in Quarantine: The Arrival

Updated: Mar 25, 2020

Sunday, March 22, 2020


Hi there! So I arrived in Ghana on the last flight allowed into the country. The Government made the difficult decision to close the airports at 11:59 pm on Sunday. I think it's a good idea considering what happened to other countries who dismissed the virus. Anyway, today someone told me that during situations like this we have two choices: let the situation get us down and spiral or look for inspiration. So I thought I'd share what's going on with me just to let people out there know that things are alright here and to remind everyone to stay positive!


But first what lead me here:


On Friday afternoon, I received an email from my university stating that my exams and online classes would be cancelled due to the current pandemic. Canada was already in a State of Emergency, meaning all restaurants, bars, malls and cinemas were shut (except for restaurants serving takeout). I spoke with my dad and seeing as all I could do was stay home alone, I decided it would be better if I returned home to Ghana. At least in Ghana, I would be with my family. As flights to Ghana were shutting down by Tuesday, we'd booked a flight for me back to Accra for the following evening.


On Saturday evening, I was ready to board my flight at Pearson International Airport in Toronto. I received a call from my parents, I assumed to wish me a safe flight. Instead, I received the shocking news that the travellers who'd just arrived at Kotaka International Airport in Accra had just been taken to Mariott Hotel for a 14-day mandatory quarantine by the Ghana Ministry of Health. Not only that but the same fate awaited me and the fellow travellers who'd be arriving on Sunday evening.


Upon arriving at Kotoka Airport, I was glad there was no long line-up for immigration. Those of you who travel often know that the line to immigration can take an hour to get through! After getting through immigration and collecting our luggage, we were put on various buses belonging to Ghana's Armed Forces. We weren't informed where we would spend our quarantine, but we'd heard that the travellers who arrived the night before were put up in Mariott Hotel and La Palm Royal Beach Hotel.


You can imagine our surprise when the line of buses drove past Mariott and turned away from the Labadi area. After driving through Asylum Down we reached Alisa Hotel. I personally have visited Alisa Hotel before, but I'd never seen the rooms so I did not know what to expect. Before entering the reception we were made to wash our hands and use hand sanitizer. We completed our registration forms and received a room keycard and bag of dinner in exchange. I was surprised to find the bag had three takeaway containers inside it. I was not expecting so much food.


When I entered my room I knew there were worse places to spend a 2-week quarantine. The room had all the amenities: a big, comfortable, double size bed, a TV with various news and movie channels, airconditioning, chairs and tables, a fridge, kettle and ample space to walk around, do exercises and store luggage. The bathroom too was clean and stocked with complimentary toiletries. There were even 2 bottles of mineral water for us.


The dinner was fresh and delicious. We got a box of salad, a box of jollof rice and a box of fish. There was also a 300ml bottle of Fanta Lemon. We received a menu with the dining options for each meal, which stated that meals would come with a bottle of water and a soft drink.


So at the end of the day, even though we can't go to our homes or meet our family or friends it doesn't look like this quarantine will be all bad. The Government is clearly spending to keep us in good facilities and make us feel comfortable. I mean we even have free Wi-Fi (how else would I write and post this). This is, after all, a measure for everyone's safety. I for one would rather stay here and be tested for the virus than go home and risk spreading it to my family or the community.

958 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Party

bottom of page