top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAkshay Melwani

A Party



Who doesn't like a good party? Well, I've never been a fan of them, but I thought tonight would be different. IGCSEs were over and my best friends, Matt and Ryan, insisted this would be fun. I'm usually more of a wallflower at these things but, I only have two more years of high school left so, I thought it best to make the most of it. After all, what could go wrong?


It was an unusually cool June evening in the city of Sherbrook. As the wind blew through the open-air rooftop club, I was grateful for the hoodie I'd put on before leaving home. I always felt more comfortable in my hoodie. I could just pull up the hood and disappear out of sight.


Set twenty-five stories high, you could practically see the entire city from the club. The elevator brought you right up to the centre of the rooftop. Behind it was the washrooms, and beside it was a bar where an older guy was dispensing red and blue cups of beer. Beyond the bar was a spacious dance floor complete with flashing blue and green lights and loud music coming from the DJ booth in the corner. On the other side of the elevator was a tranquil swimming pool.


As soon as we got here, I felt alienated. The music, the dancing, the drinking, none of it was me. Matt and Ryan fit in instantly. Matt met up with his girlfriend Sasha and, Ryan joined a game of beer pong. Meanwhile, I sneaked off to the pool. That's where I sat cross-legged on the floor, admiring the still, illuminated water. I always felt better around water. It's cooling, keeps its shape no matter what happens to it and, in this case, calm.


"Wait a minute," came a voice from my right. "I know that hoodie. Percy?"


You might think I was named after the main character in Rick Riordan's books due to my fondness for water. In fact, I was named after my mom's favourite poet. I took off my hood and turned around. "Annie?"


She was wearing a light grey sweater, blue jeans, and black sandals. Her brown hair hung around her shoulders. I tried to stay calm as she strolled over and sat down next to me. "I didn't expect to see you here." She adjusted her round glasses.


"I didn't expect to be here either," I admitted. "Parties aren't really my scene. I'd much rather be at home getting through an enjoyable book."


"Same," She agreed. "But it was either come here or attend another of my dad's boring business dinners." She shrugged. "So, which book are you reading?"


"I just started the latest Alex Rider book," I responded, staring at the water.


"No way! I'm about to finish the previous one. No spoilers!"


I chuckled, assuring her I wouldn't dream of spoiling a story for a fellow bookworm. We always bump into each other in the school library during lunch break. I'd turn into an aisle and spot her seated on a cushion on the carpeted floor engrossed in a book. She claims she read too many books as a child, which worsened her eyesight and resulted in her getting glasses. We usually just greet each other and comment on the book the other is holding.


We sat at the poolside in silence for a minute or so as I tried to come up with something to say.


"Have you been to Book Zone yet?" Annie asked.


Book Zone was the new bookshop that had just opened a couple of weeks ago. I'd seen pictures and heard a lot about it, and it seemed like a paradise for book lovers. Modern aesthetic, state-of-the-art bookshelves and a wide variety of books sorted into genres. I could picture it with its wooden flooring, warm lighting, cozy atmosphere, and the smell of new books wafting off the shelves. Plus, there's an interconnected cafe and a little carpeted area where kids could listen to reading sessions.



"I wish," I replied. "Didn't get a chance with it opening during the middle of our IGs."



"Same," She giggled. "I'll be going there on Tuesday for the first time." A wise decision. Tuesdays are when all the new books get released. "None of my friends want to come with though..." She turned to look at me, "Would you be interested in joining me?"



I stared at her dumbfounded. My palms began to sweat, and My heart palpitated. My lips quivered as I opened my mouth to respond. I couldn't form a concise sentence; thankfully, my voice failed me.



"It's not a date or anything." She turned away nervously. "You don't have to answer right away," She continued quickly. "I'm sure you're very busy and, everything but you can text me later and let me know." She asked for my phone, which I handed to her dazed. She added herself to my contacts, then said she'd see me around and took off.



I stared back at the pool. I wanted to just jump in and be alone with my thoughts underwater, drowning out the noise of the party and the world.



"There ya are." Came a voice from behind me. It was Ryan. Judging by the way he slurred his words, I don't think he won the game of beer pong. "Matt and I thought you'd gone home." He sat down next to me. "Lemme text Matt that I found you. What're you doing here by yourself anyway?"



For a second, I thought I'd dreamt the whole interaction with Annie. It just felt so unreal. And yet, I could imagine us walking through the aisles of Book Zone. Browsing the shelves, recommending books to each other, reminiscing over stories we'd read, bonding over our favourite novels over a drink at the cafe.



"Whose number is that on your phone?" I snapped out of my daydream. I had left my phone screen on after Annie had added her number. Guess that interaction did happen. "Annie?" Ryan wondered aloud. "Ain't she the girl from the library you're crushing on?"



"What?! That's absurd. I don't have a crush on Annie." Clearly, Ryan has had one too many drinks.


"Dude, it's so obvious.” He smirks. "You're always nervous around her, and your gaze always follows her when she passes by."



"Huh, maybe I do have a crush on her." I realized. "Wait, do I really stare at her like a creep?"



"More like a lovesick puppy." Responds Matt as he sits down on the other side of me. I'm glad they both came looking for me. They know I don't enjoy parties. "So, did you finally get the courage to ask her out?"



"No," I admitted. "We were just talking. Oh, and Annie invited me to visit that new bookshop with her on Tuesday."



"Dude, way to bury the lead!" Ryan clapped me on the back.



"This calls for celebration." Matt grinned, pulling me to my feet.



I insisted that it wasn't a date, but they wouldn't accept. My friends dragged me to the dancefloor. I promised to give partying a try, so I did my best to jive to the generic rap song being played. Maybe going on a date would be the beginning of a change for me. People have always been telling me to be more extroverted. Perhaps it's time for this wallflower to bloom. Of course, I'm going to take it slow, but I guess if I'm more outgoing, these next few years could be the best of my life.



Just as I was wrapping up my existential crisis, a loud boom echoed in the distance, derailing my train of thought. The optimist in me thought a car tyre had burst or a speaker had blown out, but I had a feeling it was something worse, like a gunshot or an explosion. I looked around and realized no one else seemed to have noticed. Perhaps I imagined it, or it was part of the song playing?



Then I noticed a huge black cloud rising on the horizon, a fire raging beneath it. None of my classmates paid any attention, almost as if this happened every time they went to a party. I pointed at it, "Do you guys see that?" I asked Matt and Ryan.



"Yeah, it's a beautiful night," Matt screamed over the music.



"What? No!" I protested. "The fire and the explosion!"



"Oh no. You're not making an excuse and going home early this time." Ryan blocked my path to the exit.



I glanced over his shoulder, and my stomach did a summersault. A shockwave rippled through the city, coming straight towards us. I had to warn everyone.



Ryan studied my startled expression. "Nice try." He muttered and kept on grooving.



I surveyed the scene. All my classmates were busy dancing, singing along and having a ball. The music blared on top volume, and I'm sure some people were drunk. My eyes caught on the DJ booth. It was elevated, and I'd be able to stop the music so everyone could hear me and the chaos erupting in the city. I dashed past Matt, but it was too late.



I only climbed a couple of steps before the shockwave hit the building. I was thrust over the low wall. Panic swelled up inside of me. Some sort of survival mechanism must have kicked in because I was able to grab hold of the ledge. A million thoughts raced through my mind. How long could I hold on for? My upper body strength wasn't much. I dared not look down.



Maybe someone could help me, but I doubted that. As soon as the shockwave hit the building, everyone must have fallen to the floor. I heard screams, windows shattering, the lights bursting, the speakers exploding. Down on the streets, car alarms went crazy, and I could only imagine some collided or skidded off the road. With all that chaos, I doubted anyone would come for me.



My heart practically stopped when I spotted cracks appearing on the side of the building. On the other side, I heard water gushing. The poor, innocent pool. I surprised myself with how long I held on with my palms coated in sweat. My arms burned. My voice wouldn't work. Spots began to dance in front of my eyes. I would've fainted from the fear and effort of keeping myself up, but the ledge began to crumble. The next thing I knew, I was falling.

305 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page